Poetry (English)

The Colour Of My Hope!

My hopes have turned white,
Lacking any shine.
Instilling in me sadness,
And melancholy rhymes.

What colour should I paint my hopes,
For it to be visible through the mist and fog.
What colour should I paint my hopes,
That it should shine forever ?
Shall I paint it with red so that
It will infuse me with courage,
Or red is the colour of blood,
And of satan and anger and rage ?
Oh, I better paint it yellow,
It will resemble the fire,
And help me glow firce, and shine,
Lifting my wishes and desires.
Wait, Is yellow the colour of sickness ?
Pale, dying and hopeless…
Should I paint my hopes with yellow ?
Or should I paint it with green ?
For green is the face of nature,
And the mother of everything in,
For green pleases dry eyes,
And calm all the senses within.
But green is the colour in infirmary,
Will it give senses of being ill ?

I know I should paint it blue,
And make it resemble the sky,
Every time I look at it,
It will set my spirits very high.
Wait, does it give a hints of poison,
And the thought of dark and death ?

Oh, I’m now lost, I can’t paint it well,
I will throw all my colours on the hope,
Maybe it will give it everything,
And one can pick what they desire.
Did it again turned white ?
But I threw at it red and blue and green.

Oh, Is it my failed attempt to paint it ?
Or is white the colour of my hope ?

Leave your comments below:-

© 2020 Manas Dutta, Manas Dutta’s Blog. (All Rights Reserved With Author.)

2 thoughts on “The Colour Of My Hope!”

Leave a comment